TN Enhanced Carry Permit

Think you don't need or want a permit now that legislation has passed permitless carry in the state of Tennessee? You might want to think again.


Beginning June 1st, 2021 - Persons legally permitted to own or possess a handgun, and who would otherwise meet all requirements to obtain a handgun carry permit, will be permitted to carry a handgun without first having to obtain a carry permit. This does not however, allow you to carry out of state, carry in certain places where a permit is required, or cover you in the event that your newfound right and freedom is revoked under the strain of any new gun control legislation that is pushed through. Additionally, anyone who carries a firearm (or owns a firearm) is required to know the laws surrounding that firearm, and the use of that firearm, and should be proficient in the application of those laws and the use and understanding of them.


The Tennessee Enhanced Handgun Permit (TCA 39-17-1351) is Tennessee's full fledged permit. This course consists of approximately 5-hours of classroom instruction, a written exam, a break for lunch, and a live-fire range quealification.

Successful completion of this state safety course will provide you with the certificate needed to apply for a TN Enhanced Carry Permit.


During the course, we will go over the permit application process and eligibility, the legal responsibilities and liabilities surrounding firearms, reciprocity and transportation of firearms, the requirements for self-defense and the use of deadly force in Tennessee, and basic skills for owning, maintaining, and shooting a handgun safely - including the univeral safety rules. You will then take a written exam, which you must pass with a score of 70% or higher.


After completion of the written exam, we will break for 1 hour for lunch, and then meet back at the range.


During your range qualification, you will be required to fire 20 rounds at 3 yards, 20 rounds at 5 yards, and 10 rounds at 7 yards. All 50 rounds will be fired at a B-29 standard target. During the firing range portion of this course, you will be required to strictly adhere to the universal safety rules at ALL times. You will be required to pass the firing range qualification with a score of 70% or higher.


You will need to bring:

  • Pen or Pencil

  • Notepad

  • Snacks/Drinks

  • Your State Application Number (You need to apply for your's HERE, if you haven't already obtained one. Click the link, Click on the "Handgun Permits" tab, Click on "New Resident Handgun Carry Permit" and complete the application.)

  • Eye and Ear Protection (we have these available to borrow or purchase if you do not have your own)

  • A Working Handgun of Self-Defense Caliber (.380, 9mm, .40S&W, .45ACP, etc. - No magnums, and no .22's)

  • 50 Rounds of New Target Ammunition (no reloads, no hollow points)



Are you ready to get your TN Enhanced Concealed Handgun Permit? REGISTER FOR A CLASS NOW!